Profile Picture
Dear Pari, India’s first narrative podcast on adoption hosted by parents Rakesh and Priya, will take the listeners through their journey of adopting their daughter while discussing pertinent issues. Parents, adoptees, government officials, anti-trafficking experts on child adoption are part of this series. This series is brought to you by Suno India, a podcast platform for issues that matter. Subscribe on

Maharashtra election result – BJP and Shiv Sena in a power tussle

October 29, 2019

On Thursday, the election results for 286 assembly constituencies of Maharashtra were declared. The Bharatiya Janta Party secured a total of 105 seats and its alliance partner Shiv Sena 56 seats. The Congress won 44 seats and The nationalist congress party led by Sharad Pawar won 54 seats. Despite the Shiv Sena and BJP alliance bagging majority seats, the tussle for power continues with Sena Chief Uddhav Thackeray wanting a chief ministerial position for Aaditya Thackerey in two years time. On Saturday, while addressing party MLAs, Thackrey also hinted that the party would explore other options if the BJP didn’t honor the 50-50 power-sharing agreement, presumably agreed upon during the Lok Sabha elections. Hardening stand on an equal division of the chief ministerial tenure, Shiv Sena MP Sanjay Raut last night told NDTV and I quote “We will see how they do not share the post of the chief minister. Both the parties agreed on 50:50 power-sharing formula. There is no need to explain it in detail."

To understand more about what these results mean for the politics of Maharashtra, The Suno India Show reached out to Tushar Dhara, a journalist with the Caravan magazine.

Even as we air this interview, it is to be noted, that Shiv Sena has got support from two legislators – PJP MLA Omprakash alias Bachhu Kadu and Rajkumar Patel – from Prahar Janshakti Party (PJP), taking its total seat tally to 60.

Download – Transcript

Maharashtra election result – BJP and Shiv Sena in a power tussle

    Not Post Found!